The Software Analysis Workbench has its roots in Cryptol, which has been under development for over a decade with many people contributing to its design and implementation. The contributors to SAW and Cryptol include (but are not limited to) Aaron Tomb, Adam Foltzer, Adam Wick, Andy Gill, Benjamin Barenblat, Brian Huffman, Brian Ledger, David Lazar, Dylan McNamee, Edward Yang, Fergus Henderson, Iavor Diatchki, Jeff Lewis, Jim Teisher, Joe Hendrix, Joe Hurd, Joe Kiniry, Joel Stanley, John Launchbury, John Matthews, Jonathan Daugherty, Kenneth Foner, Kyle Carter, Ledah Casburn, Lee Pike, Levent Erkök, Magnus Carlsson, Mark Shields, Mark Tullsen, Matt Sottile, Nathan Collins, Philip Weaver, Robert Dockins, Sally Browning, Sam Anklesaria, Sigbjørn Finne, Thomas Nordin, and Trevor Elliott.

In addition, much of the work on SAW and Cryptol has been funded by, and lots of design input was provided by the team at the NSA’s Trusted Systems Research Group, including Brad Martin, Frank Taylor and Sean Weaver.